I’ve been lazy…

I will be the first to admit it… I’ve gotten lazy… It’s amazing how when you’re busy, it’s easier to get things done, but when you’re not as busy, it seems that much more difficult!

I had been doing really well sticking to my routine. I planned out my meals ahead of time, cooked at home almost every night with leftovers to take to work the next day. I worked out almost every night-not the most intense workouts, granted, but it was something to get me off the couch. I was getting all my cleaning done every night, so I had a clean house to come home to every day… And on, and on the list goes…

So what happened? Well, it was a couple different things, really, but I can pinpoint it back to a specific night. I had gotten home from work, and I had a run on the schedule for the evening. I had to force myself to go out and do it, and it was a terrible run. My legs were heavy, I couldn’t get my breathing right, and I was just exhausted! Normally when I have to force myself to go work out, I usually get about halfway through and my energy picks up, and I realize my dread was all in my head. Then when I’m finished, I feel amazing. This was not the case, however, for this particular night. I was even more exhausted than when I started, and I just never got that post workout high.

I blame my crappy workout on the fact that I was majorly sugar detoxing, and I was really lethargic. I’m a self-proclaimed sugar addict, so coming down from my sugar high really did a number on me. Now, it’s completely fine in some cases to take a day or two off if you really need it, and in this case, I needed it. The bad part though is that I let this excuse hang on for a little too long, and it took root. I let one day turn into two turn into three, etc. Then, because I wasn’t working out, I wasn’t regimented about eating right, so I let myself have one little piece of chocolate which turned into two pieces of chocolate and then a whole cookie and so on and so forth. It was really just one thing that led to another until I reverted back to where I was tonight, sitting on my couch watching TV with a bag of potato chips and a pile of dishes in the sink that desperately need washing.

It wasn’t something that happened all at once, and that’s the really scary part. It happened so slowly that it was hard to even realize that it was. One thing started slipping, and then the next part went, and it just kept going because I was too comfortable in my laziness to stop it. It’s sad how it takes so long to build up your good habits, but then then it takes one or two small things to make you stumble and end up right back where you started.

Now this really isn’t meant to be “excuses for why I’m lazy,” I promise. Really, it’s more my way of making a confession. I’ve been lazy. I haven’t been doing what I know I should and need to be doing, but no more. I’m making a conscious decision right now to derail this lazy train and get back on the good health track. (Woo… that’s a few too many railroad references there, and, for that, I apologize…) Life’s just too short to be anything but your best self!

If you’ve got any tips or suggestions for how you keep yourself from devolving into a couch blob, I’d love to hear them!

Leave a Reply

