Whole 30-Days 6-7

Forgive me for my lack of post for the last couple days; I had a pretty busy weekend, and I just really didn’t have much time to sit down and write. Ok, that’s not entirely true. I probably could have written something yesterday, but after being busy all day Saturday and most of the morning on Sunday, I just wanted to veg out and watch some TV. We’re all entitled to that, right? Ok, now that that’s out of the way, what was it that was keeping me so busy?

Well, I mentioned on Friday that I had a mud run on Saturday morning. It was really cold, but ended up being really fun! When I first got there, we had to park and check in in this big open field, and it was rainy and windy and cold! I was really worried about how the race was going to go if I was already that miserable before the race even started. I knew I’d warm up a little bit once I got moving, but I was really nervous about being wet in the cold.

After about 30 minutes of standing around and getting myself situated, we headed over to the starting corral. We were about 15 minutes early for our wave, but they said we could just start anyway, so off we went. The very first obstacle was a giant hill. About halfway up I was really tempted to stop and rest because it was about 1/4 of a mile long and pretty steep, but I just kept going and eventually made it up to the top. After that, I wasn’t worried about the cold anymore! My heart was pumping, and I was actually pretty comfortable. It helped that most of the run was on wooded trails, so it was shielded from the wind and rain quite a bit.

Warrior Princess 5k

Before…

I was determined to make it through all of the obstacles, but there were a couple that I ended up skipping. The first was an ice water pit. You could swim through it or just run through it, but I opted to go around because of the cold. I didn’t want to stick my feet in ice water when I knew it would only make me that much colder that much faster, so I skipped it. The second was monkey bars because I haven’t been able to do them since I was about 10. The third I only sort of skipped. It was a bar that was about chest high looped through a bunch of racing tires, so when you’d try and get up and over, there really wasn’t anything to hang onto, and the tires would rotate. I did try to get up and over it, but with my short legs I just couldn’t get a good foothold, so I just went under it through the mud.

I think my favorite obstacle was probably the slide. It was just tarps laid down on a big hill that they sprayed with soap and water. When it was your turn, the volunteers would squirt your belly with soap, and they told you to take a running start and basically bellyflop on the slide and go head first. The people in front of me would run until they got to the slide and then slow down and jump, but I just went for it. It was terrifying and exhilarating!

Warrior Princess 5k

…After! Who wants a hug?

The whole thing was really fun, and I’d definitely do it again, but I’ll be left with a few reminders of the race for the next week or two. Since the race was held in a public park, all of the obstacles had to be brought in and set up, and the mud they used had a lot of rocks in it. I didn’t really notice the bruises as I was getting them because I was so numb from the cold, but once I warmed up later on, I looked down, and I have several large purple spots on my legs and arms.

After the race, I had to run home and get cleaned up quick before driving up to meet the boy for dinner. He just got a new job, so we were celebrating with a nice dinner. It was my first time going out to eat while on Whole30, so I was a little nervous. We didn’t decide where we were going ahead of time, so I couldn’t pre-plan my meal either like I try to do when going to new places. He wanted Italian, but I figured that was about the least likely place I’d be able to find something Whole30 approved.

We ended up going to a steakhouse, and even there I was surprised by how limited my options were. I could have all of their cuts, but all of their compositions had some kind of sugar or cream or alcohol in them. I ended up getting a flat iron steak with a peppercorn crust and a side of grilled asparagus tossed in olive oil and salt. I made sure to ask how it was prepared to make sure there weren’t any added ingredients not listed on the menu. I definitely felt like “that customer,” but it wasn’t nearly as bad as I imagined it would be.

On Sunday, I had a pretty low key day. I pretty much just cleaned and did my housework. I had to run to my parents’ house to do some laundry, and then I came home and cooked a chicken trying a new method. I was pretty happy with the way it turned out, and I made sure to save some of it to make some soup for tonight!

So what did I eat over the last two days? (This post was getting too long, so I will write about today in tomorrow’s post.)

Saturday-Day 6

Breakfast: 3 Baked Egg Nests, a banana, and 8 oz Gingerberry kombucha

Lunch: I didn’t really eat lunch because I was in such a hurry-shame on me! I did have an apple and a banana on the drive up to the boy’s house though.

Dinner: Side salad with oil and vinegar, 7 oz. Flat Iron Steak, and Grilled Asparagus in Olive Oil

Sunday-Day 7

Breakfast: Woke up pretty late, so I just had an apple and 8 oz original kombucha

Lunch: Ham, Apple, & Sweet Potato Scramble

Dinner: Spatchcocked Chicken with Roast Sweet Potatoes, Carrots, and Butternut Squash

Spatchcocked chicken

Rubbed with ghee and sprinkled with salt and an herb garlic seasoning blend. Ready to go in the oven!

If you’ve never spatchcocked a chicken before, I highly recommend this method! You just cut out the backbone of a whole chicken with a good kitchen shears, score the breastbone from the inside, and lay the chicken out flat. You can season it however you would like, but it cooks so much faster than leaving it whole, so it comes out juicy and tender.

Spatchcocked chicken cooked

I forgot to take a picture before dismembering it… Roasted to perfection!

How did I feel?

I felt amazing! I had so much energy and stamina during the race. I think if it was a little warmer out and not quite so hilly, I could have done a lot more running. Yesterday I was a bit tired, but I’m sure that had more to do with the crazy workout I got from the race than anything diet related. I’m still going strong and defintely feeling like I can keep this up for the whole 3o days of my Whole3o!

Leave a Reply

