Whole30-Half Way There!

Today is day 16 of my Whole30 which means I am over halfway done!!! I have already seen amazing results, but I’ve definitely got quite a way to go yet. So… I’m thinking of extending my Whole30 into a Whole58. Am I crazy?! …Maybe a little. 😉 Really, I don’t see any reason to stop eating the way I’m eating. I don’t find it that difficult to be completely honest. The first week was challenging, but I’ve almost completely gotten over my cravings.

My plan is that I’m going to continue to eat Whole30 super clean until Thanksgiving which would be day 59. I’m not going to go crazy or anything because I think my insides would rebel, but I’m going to relax a little. I have a couple of Paleo veggie recipes that I plan to bring to wherever it is I end up going, and I found a Paleo pumpkin pie recipe for dessert. I always tend to overdo it on holidays, so I’m really just giving myself a solid reason to keep myself in check. After Thanksgiving, I plan to do the Whole30 reintroduction. I might have to do Whole30 for a few days first so I can really tell how the foods I’ve cut out affect me.

As I mentioned, I’ve been seeing some amazing results in just 16 days of Whole30. I’ve had a lot of GI issues which are finally starting to regulate themselves after over 2 years of being really messed up. It’s still a work in progress which is another reason why I’m extending my Whole30, but it is significantly improved over what it was before. My cravings are almost completely gone! I have my moments when I would kill for a cheeseburger or a cheesy slice of pizza, but they are few and far between and fleeting when they come up. I am now able to walk past our treat table or go into my favorite little cafe that makes the best cookies and not even really be tempted by them. I’m able to eat until I’m full and recognize when that is! But my most exciting result…

Drumroll please… in just 2 weeks on Whole30, I’ve gone down a pant size!!! I needed a new pair of jeans because my good pair got a hole in them. Just for shiggles, I picked out a pair that were the next size down, and they fit! I didn’t even need to suck everything in and shimmy for 15 minutes until everything was displaced enough to get them zipped up. It was AMAZING! In just 2 weeks, I accomplished what I’ve been trying so hard for the last… who knows how long to do!

So what have I been eating?

Saturday-Day 13

Breakfast-3 eggs, 8 oz Gingerade kombucha, sauteed asparagus

Eggs, asparagus, apple

Nothing fancy, but it looked so pretty plated that I had to share. Doesn’t get more wholesome than this!

Lunch-An apple-I know shame on me, but we were out hiking, and I wasn’t hungry.

Dinner- 7 oz tenderloin, salad with oil and vinegar, baked sweet potato, and a fruit salad. This was my second time going out to eat while on Whole30. We went to Texas Road house, and it was definitely a prime example of why you need to ask about the ingredients in everything.  I asked how the steak was prepared, and they use a special seasoning that has both flour and sugar in it. Definitely glad I asked! I was also still kind of hungry after we were done eating, so we went to the grocery store for some dessert. 🙂 I grabbed a container of fresh fruit and savored every bite.

Sunday-Day 14

Breakfast-Banana and 8 oz Gingerade kombucha

Lunch-Breakfast Taco Scramble Mess from Ultimate Paleo Guide

Breakfast Taco Scramble

Doesn’t look too pretty, but it’s pretty tasty! Great taco flavor with just a hint of spiciness.

Dinner-7 oz sirloin with a baked potato and steamed broccoli. Again another example for why you have to ask. I ordered the mixed veggies and asked what was in them. Either she didn’t say corn, or I just wasn’t paying attention. The latter is most likely. When it came out I had to ask if they had anything else, and I just felt really bad. I did ask, but clearly there was some miscommunication.

Monday-Day 15

Breakfast-Taco Scramble, an apple, and 8 oz Citrus kombucha

Lunch-Lazy Pot Roast Soup

Dinner-I had a late evening, so it was just 2 eggs and a microwaved sweet potato

Tuesday-Day 16

Breakfast-Taco Scramble, and apple, and 8 oz Citrus kombucha

Lunch-Lazy Pot Roast Soup

Dinner-Spaghetti Squash with Meat Sauce from Paleo Grubs

Spaghetti Squash with Meat Sauce

This picture doesn’t do it justice… This is really good! I’d eat it even if I wasn’t on Whole30!

I had so much going on in the last couple days that I just couldn’t fit it all in one post! I had an amazing time in Door County with the boy, so stop back tomorrow to read about that and see all kinds of gorgeous pictures!

Leave a Reply

