Whole30-Days 19-22

I’m not sure what happened. I was going along just fine, better than fine actually. I was feeling great! My digestive issues were going away, my skin was clearing up, my little aches and pains were going away, and I could tell my inflammation was way down. Then on Friday, something changed. I had my breakfast, and within an hour I had severe stomach pains. They were so bad I was hunched over at my desk in tears.

After the pain went away and dulled to a minor discomfort, I did a little research into what could be the cause. At first I thought it might be a sensitivity to something I hadn’t cut out with Whole30. All I had was celery, carrots, and eggs. I found some information on the Autoimmune Protocol Diet, which is like a stricter version of Whole30 to really help figure out what things are trigger foods. I thought it might be the eggs, but I’ve been eating eggs this whole time without any problems. I wasn’t entirely convinced that was the culprit, so I kept digging.

I found some more information on sensitivity to raw vegetables which said that for someone with GI issues, sometimes eating raw veggies with high amounts of insoluble fiber is like rubbing a wire brush on an open wound. When I thought back on all the times I had these severe stomach pains, it was almost always after eating some form of raw veggies. I confirmed my suspicions the next night when I was out at dinner. I had a salad that had some raw veggies on it (I’ve never had a problem with lettuce, so I don’t think that is a trigger), and again, within an hour I had severe stomach pains.

So the new plan is that I’m going to keep up my Whole58 hoping that if I stay away from raw veggies, things will eventually sort themselves out, and I’ll get back to normal. Because of the extra irritation and inflammation from Friday, I feel like I’m back to where I was pre Whole30, so it’ll probably be a few days before everything gets back to great. If at the end of my Whole58, I am still having issues, I am going to switch over to the AIP diet to see if that regulates things. If that doesn’t do it… well, then I don’t know… Back to the doctor for more testing, I guess.

So aside from the stomach issues, this weekend was actually a pretty fun one. Friday night I just did my grocery shopping and watched a little TV. Saturday, the boy and I went apple picking, which I had never done before! It was fun, and I absolutely love apples fresh off the tree! They are fresher (duh!), juicier, and just all around tastier than the ones you get in the store. And as an added bonus, they were only $0.65/lb! I got a huge bag of them for only $4. 🙂

Apple picking

This is definitely my new favorite picture. 🙂

Sunday, I went to my uncle’s birthday party which I knew was going to be a challenge, but I went in prepared. I made a big lunch and asked my aunt what was all in a lot of the things she made. She made shredded turkey sandwiches that was just turkey brined in apple cider vinegar, seasoned with spices and cooked with some oranges in its belly. It was something I could eat, and it was delicious! I also made some applesauce with the apples I had picked the day before. It was really easy to make. I just cut up a bunch of apples and threw them in a crock pot with a little fresh apple cider from the orchard and some cinnamon. Once the apples were soft, I used my immersion blender to blend it into a chunky sauce. It tasted amazing, and I got a lot of compliments on it at the party. I also brought some flavored sparkling water along to drink. I got to eat a bunch of delicious food and have a good time while remaining compliant!

 

So what did I eat?

Friday, October 17-Day 19

Breakfast-3 eggs, celery, carrots, and 8 oz Gingerade kombucha

Eggs, Celery, Carrots

The culprit!

Lunch-Mustard Chicken and Roast Beets

Dinner-Spaghetti Squash with Meat Sauce

Saturday, October 18-Day 20

Breakfast-Banana, 3 eggs, and 8 oz Gingerade kombucha

Lunch-An apple from the orchard

Dinner-Cajun Smoked Salmon and Carribbean salad

Sunday, October 19-Day 21

Breakfast-An apple and 8 oz Original kombucha

Lunch-Ham, Apple, & Sweet Potato Scramble from Paleo Newbie

Second Lunch-Apple Cider Turkey, some olives, pickles, and applesauce (PS I was actually hungry when I was eating. I wasn’t just eating because there was food out which is a no-no)

Dinner-Paleo Pumpkin Soup from fastPaleo

Paleo Pumpkin Soup

This is like heaven on a spoon! (Ignore my attempt to be fancy with the coconut milk on top 😉 )

Monday, October 20-Day 22

Breakfast-Ham, Apple, & Sweet Potato Scramble, an apple, and 8 oz Original kombucha

Lunch-Pumpkin Soup, baked chicken, and green beans

Dinner-Baked Potato and Pumpkin Soup

Tuesday, October 21-Day 23

Breakfast-Ham, Apple, & Sweet Potato Scramble, a banana, an apple, and 8 oz Gingerberry kombucha

Lunch-Pumpkin Soup and 2 eggs

DinnerLazy Pot Roast with potatoes and carrots

Leave a Reply

