Whole30-Days 24-25

The last couple days have been kind of boring, so I don’t really have much to report. The good news is that my stomach is feeling mostly back to normal today! 🙂 It still looks a little more bloated than it was before the celery incident, but I feel so much better. I can actually eat things again without feeling discomfort, so yay for that!

Yesterday I hit the gym after work, and I nearly had a panic attack when I realized I left my jewelry in my locker at the gym! I had been putting it in my jeans pocket, but, irony of ironies, I was worried I’d lose it! I called the gym as soon as I realized it was gone, and my heart sank when they said they couldn’t find it. She took down my name and number and said she’d call me if anyone turned anything in though. I just felt sick. It’s not very valuable jewelry by any means, but it’s sentimental and unique. I was just thinking about how I’d never be able to cost effectively replace it because it is so unique when she called me back and said someone had turned it in! I was so relieved! I got it back after hitting the gym again tonight, and I feel so much better.

Speaking of hitting the gym… I signed up for a free personal training session for next Wednesday! I work out at Planet Fitness, so it’s not really one on one training, but I do get to sit down with the trainer and talk about what I’m hoping to get out of it, and he’s going to give me some exercises I can do. So I guess I have to think about what my goals are now… Really I just want to tone up everywhere. I’m sure he can give me a total body routine to do.

Another fun thing I did today was attend a meditation techniques class at work. It was awesome! I’ve always been a fan of meditation and relaxation techniques to help calm and center your mind. We practiced a few different techniques in class, and when I was done, I felt so relaxed and ready to take on the rest of my day! The one technique that I was kind of bummed about was called Chocolate Meditation. He handed out Ghirardelli chocolate squares and told us to slowly unwrap the chocolate, study it, smell it, etc. Then he told us to take a bit and just hold it in our mouths to pick out the depths of the flavor; then slowly chew it letting it fill up your mouth. Then slowly swallow it feeling it go all the way to the stomach.

I, of course, could not participate with chocolate, so he told me to do it with water… somehow it just wasn’t quite the same. Haha. I don’t really feel like I missed out on anything though. I got the point of it, and there will always be chocolate later on if I really want some. I thought it was a great reminder though to just be in the moment and enjoy your food, whatever it is. I know I am usually doing 10 other things when I am eating, and when I get done, I don’t even really remember what it tasted like. I always say I love food, but do I really if I don’t take the time to enjoy it and experience all the depths of flavor and texture in my meals? Just something interesting to think about!

So what did I eat?

Wednesday, October 22-Day 24

Breakfast-Ham, Apple, & Sweet Potato Scramble, an apple, 8 oz Gingerberry kombucha

Lunch-Lazy Pot Roast with potatoes and carrots

Dinner-2 Larabars and some Raw Sesame “Cookies” over the course of about 4 hours. Shame on me for not eating a real meal, but I just wasn’t hungry after my workout. I had to make myself eat the Larabar.

Thursday, October 23-Day 25

Breakfast-An apple, 8 oz unsweetened black tea, Paleo Pumpkin Soup

Lunch-Sliced ham and a banana

Post Workout Snack-Larabar and 16 oz pineapple coconut water

Dinner-2 eggs and ham slice


One thing I learned in my meditation class is that thinking positively can really help improve your outlook on life. This is something that I try to do anyway, but he said one thing you can do is think of at least one thing every day that went well or that you are grateful for, so I am going to start adding that at the bottom of every blog post.

My proud moment for today was that I went for it at the gym. I’ve always been really timid and worried that people were going to judge me and the things I do. That my form was off or my exercises were silly, but today I said to hell with them. I brought along a list of exercises to do, went over and grabbed some free weights and did my exercises without worrying what others thought of me. So I am proud of myself for that!

I’d love to hear what some of your proud moments for the day were!

 

Leave a Reply

