Conscious Decisions

I’ve mentioned in previous posts that I’ve finally gotten to the point where I don’t feel guilty about the foods that I eat regardless of how healthy they are. Today, I made the decision to end my Whole30 at a Whole21, and I don’t feel even a little guilty.

There are several reasons I decided to end it early, but the biggest is that in January I’m planning to do a Whole(?). I am going to do the Whole30, but then I’m going to extend it until I really feel that “tiger blood” they talk about on the Whole30 website. I haven’t really felt that yet. Don’t get me wrong, I’ve felt pretty good, but I still have the stomach issues along with a few other things I’m hoping to get rid of.

The stomach issues are another reason I decided to end my Whole30 a week early. I was feeling a bit nauseous around lunchtime, and all I had was pot roast which didn’t sound remotely appealing. When my stomach gets like that, I usually need some kind of carbs and very little fiber to settle it. If I had potatoes or another starchy veggie, that would have worked, but I didn’t have that either, so I opted for a sandwich instead. I thought about it for a solid 15 minutes weighing the pros and cons, and ultimately decided that it was ok to go off plan a little early.

Another reason I decided to end it? Next week is my birthday, and I want cake! šŸ™‚ I had planned to just wait until the Friday after my birthday and have a cupcake, but I know there will be other treats from friends and coworkers during the week that I want to be able to enjoy. I actually really enjoy my birthday, and it only comes around once a year, so I want to be able to enjoy it!Ā I’m not planning to go crazy, but I’m going to let myself have a treat here and there if it seems worth it to me.

I was considering ending it last night already actually. I was really craving pizza or a sub, but I thought about it, and neither of those items were special, and ultimately they weren’t worth it. I guess the sandwich today wasn’t really special either, but it was worth it because it helped settle my stomach. Last night I ended up ordering a salad instead, and it was sooooo good! I did a build your own salad from a local pizza place, and I did Romaine lettuce with cucumbers, carrots, onions, black olives, banana peppers, and green peppers topped with chicken and my own oil and vinegar dressing. Mmmm! It really hit the spot.

As an added bonus, when I was ordering, my debit card got declined, so I went online to check my balance, and it turns out someone had gotten hold of my information and charged $100 to some scammy looking crowdfunding project for a zombie apocalypse compound. I’m not going to list the site here because they don’t deserve any more traffic in case they’re the ones that stole my info. I ended up having to call my bank and cancel my card. Hopefully it was just the card they got and not the whole account! They’re looking into my claim, but hopefully they’ll realize that I didn’t invest in that project, and I’ll get my money back. Why can’t people just keep their hands off of what isn’t theirs?

Some other (definitely better!) excitement that I’ve had recently is that I won the first round of my 6 month diet bet! I really stalled out at the end there, so I think round 2 is going to be really tight, but I think I’ll make it. I’m going to try my hardest to make it, actually! I’ve already amped up my efforts by starting a new Pilates program from blogilates.com. If you’re interested in Pilates, I recommend visiting her site. The videos are all super quick, but you can combine them to get a longer workout if you want. You may not need to though because her videos are challenging! I’m working on her beginner calendar right now, and it is tough! I’ve been sore for the last 5 days (I started 5 days ago!), but I can definitely tell it’s working!

Well, that’s all I’ve got for you for today! I am in for a fun-filled weekend, and I can’t wait! I’m spending the weekend with the bf which is always a nice time, and tomorrow night my best girlfriends are meeting my bf. I can’t wait! We’re all going out for dinner and then to a hockey game, so it should be a really great night. šŸ™‚

Have a great weekend!

Leave a Reply

