Wins and Losses

I really don’t have a whole lot to say today, but I want to get into the habit of writing something every day, so bear with me. Today was really pretty uneventful. I tried to get up at 5 again this morning, but as soon as my alarm went off, my brain was like nope… I said ok, I’ll just snooze it once, and then once more, and just one last time… until it was 45 minutes later. 🙂

I’m beginning to think this whole morning exercise thing just isn’t for me. I would just give it up, but I have less excuse first thing in the morning. When I get home from work oftentimes I feel exhausted, and the last thing I really want to do is work out. I’ve been pretty good with making sure to get my workout in after work the last couple days, but I’m usually pretty good in the beginning.

Diet wise, I did pretty well today. I cooked up a Whole30 compliant sausage, some green beans, and some carrots for breakfast, and I had the last of my leftover lazy pot roast with some carrots and potatoes and a green salad with oil and vinegar for lunch. I was feeling a little snacky in the morning, so I had an apple. For dinner I am making Paleo Sweet Potato Shepherd’s Pie. 🙂 I’m excited! I found the recipe earlier this afternoon, and I had all the ingredients on hand… That never happens!

Ok now to explain the title of this post… I decided that I want to be more mindful every day, and I came up with a plan that every day I’m going to write down some wins, things I can learn from, and something I am grateful for every day. I really think writing down the day’s wins and things I can learn from/work on will help me focus on my goals. The gratitude piece comes from an article I read a while back about how people who express gratitude are more satisfied and happy with their lives. Not that I’m unhappy with my life, but I have my off days like everyone else.

Wins:

  • I stayed compliant with my Whole30 even though there has been even more candy and baked goods in the office lately.
  • I got home and immediately did my workout.

Work On:

  • Getting up earlier or at least not hitting snooze so much

Thankful for:

  • I am thankful for the fact that I have access to wholesome, nutritious foods.
Leave a Reply

