Little Wins

I had planned on posting a little something every day, but the last couple days have been pretty hectic. Even though I was really busy, I don’t have much exciting to write about them. Friday I worked, went grocery shopping, and then stopped by my parents’ house to do some laundry. Super exciting… Then Saturday I got up, worked out, met up with some friends for coffee, and then went to my boyfriend’s house. Again, it was a good time, but doesn’t really leave time for writing, and really there wasn’t a ton to write about. I did have fun catching up with my friends though. I only get to see them about once a month, sometimes longer, but it’s always really fun to see them and share our stories. 🙂

I will heartily admit that up to this point, I haven’t been using the Whole30 exactly as intended. My intention when I first started it was to do the 30 days and then slowly reintroduce the foods that were eliminated as a way to really figure out what does and does not work for my body. I’ve mentioned previously that I’ve had some digestive issues among other things, and I wanted to use the Whole30 as a way to really figure out what was causing it. Anyway, I wanted to do the slow reintroduction, but with my last two attempts, I always had something going on right as I was ending them (actually it was the reason I was ending them), that made me just jump right back into my old ways. This really hasn’t helped me figure out what it is that I can’t eat because I started eating everything right away.

Even though as a whole, I haven’t been fine tuning what I should and shouldn’t eat, I have discovered a couple of life-changing things.

  1.  I can’t eat eggs. I’m not sure what it is about eggs, but every time I eat them, within probably 15-30 minutes, I am in serious pain. I get terrible stomach cramps and nausea. It gets so bad that all I can do is curl up in a ball and wait it out. The last time it happened, I was at work, and I couldn’t function. I just curled up in my chair clutching my stomach, nearly in tears. My coworkers around me said I looked like I was in pain, and I was ghostly white. I don’t seem to have issue with foods that contain egg, but maybe that’s just because it’s not in a high enough dose? I used to get terrible stomach pains like that all the time, and I could never figure out what was causing it. Ever since I gave up eggs, I haven’t had an issue with it even once.
  2. I’m pretty sure I’m lactose intolerant. After I would eat certain dairy containing foods, I would always get stomach aches. I never really put two and two together until doing the Whole30. I think for me it’s pretty mild unless I eat dairy products in conjunction with high levels of other sugars-think ice cream or cookies and milk, etc. Again, when the dairy products are in other things, it doesn’t seem to be an issue. What really cements the idea for me is that since starting the Whole30, I’ve had a couple of days where I didn’t get much sleep the previous night, and I was just dragging the next day. I needed a little boost of energy, so I decided to have coffee. I was really worried about it because coffee almost always gives me a stomach ache after I drink it, and I was worried that without the cream and sugar it would be that much worse. I decided to just give it a go and deal with the consequences, but they never came. Not even a little. So I’m pretty sure it’s the cream and sugar added to the coffee that upsets my stomach and not the coffee itself.

So anyway, that knowledge is one of the preliminary benefits I’ve gained from the Whole30 thus far. If you’re on the Whole30, have you had any aha moments like mine?


Wins:

  • I went out for coffee with my friends, and they all had yummy looking treats and fancy coffees, but I stuck with my black coffee and was totally ok with it. 🙂
  • I have gotten my 10+ minutes of activity in every day this week.

Tomorrow’s mini goal:

  • As I have failed up to this point… not hitting snooze more than once. 😉

Gratitude:

  • I am thankful to have such great friends that even though we don’t get together as much as we all would like, when we do, it’s always a great time and feels like no time at all has passed.

 

5 thoughts on “Little Wins

    • Thank you! It was definitely a bummer to find out I can’t eat those things anymore, but I’m definitely glad I know some of the things causing my issues. 🙂

      Like

  1. It sounds like you’ve had some not so fun revelations, but at least you found the root of the problem. I found out I was lactose intolerant three or four years ago, only my case has been very severe to the point I’ve had to cut out most anything with a hint of dairy.

    If you are a cheese lover and still want to enjoy cheese (after your Whole30, if you choose to go back to dairy at all), I suggest aged cheese. The aging process eliminates the majority of the lactose and I haven’t had trouble eating it despite my high sensitivity.

    Like

    • Yeah, it kind of stinks, but I’m definitely glad I was able to figure it out. Avoiding those few items to avoid the pain and discomfort followed by eating them is worth it in my book! Thanks for the cheese tip! I would like to be able to occasionally enjoy cheese once I’m done with my Whole30, so that’s good to know. 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

