2 Weeks of Lazy

My days seem to be getting away from me lately. It has happened on more than one occasion where I’ll be talking about something that happened “just the other day” only to realize it was actually a couple months ago. I don’t know what it is… Maybe because nothing really exciting or out of the ordinary has been happening lately? Who knows… Anyway, I kept thinking it had only been a couple days since my last post, but when I logged in this morning, I realized it has actually been 2 weeks! How did that happen?!

For some reason for the last couple weeks, I have been feeling super lazy. Every day when I came home from work, I had a list of things I wanted to get done, but it was like I’d step foot in the door, and all my ambition would go away. I felt tired and bored, so I’d scrape something together for dinner, and then plop down on the couch for some TV and internet surfing. It’s been kind of frustrating because the Whole30 is supposed to be giving me boundless energy, isn’t it?

I’m guessing it’s probably something to do with laziness begets laziness. I allowed myself a couple days to just relax and do nothing because I was feeling exhausted, and then that became my routine. I was ok with it at first, but after a while, it felt like something I really didn’t want but couldn’t help. After almost 2 weeks, I finally told myself that enough was enough, and I made a goal of accomplishing only one thing on my to do list, and that was enough to get me back into gear. My one thing ended up being two things, and then the following night, I accomplished a few more things. Friday night was laundry night, so I did all of that and came home and put it all away instead of leaving it in the basket. Then yesterday morning before I left, I cleaned my house and finally put away all my Christmas decorations. I feel so much better now that I’ve actually accomplished something instead of wasting my time. Hopefully I’ll keep up the momentum!

Since I was feeling so lazy lately, I didn’t keep up with my moving at least 10 minutes a day goal. I haven’t really done any intentional exercise since Monday two weeks ago. I’m going to have to restart the Blogilates beginner calendar. That’s ok though. I realize that it doesn’t have to be all or nothing. I’m not a failure for not doing 10 minutes a day. I’m just going to pick it right back up and move on.

I have been keeping up with eating Whole30 though! I’m on day 25 and still going strong! I’ve had a couple moments where I ate something and then realized there was added sugar in it, but I decided in both of those instances that I wasn’t going to start over. It was an honest mistake, and I’m over my sugar cravings, so the tiny amount I had didn’t send me to the nearest candy aisle. If it was something else that could be an irritant, I might consider it, but because it was just sugar, I don’t think it really matters. If it happened earlier in my Whole30 when I was still beating my sugar dragon into remission, that might be another story… I just read a post on the Whole30 site that talked about starting over, and I think that for me not starting over is the right decision.

Other than my laziness, I’ve been feeling pretty great! I can tell I’m not losing weight as quickly as I did on my first Whole30, and that’s kind of frustrating, but I have still lost quite a bit already. I am sure it’s due to the fact that I have been eating way more fruit than I did last time. That’s going to be a new goal for me going forward… well it is more like a new conviction to a goal I already set for myself. I’m going to only eat one serving of fruit a day and make sure I eat at least two servings of vegetables with every meal, one of which will be green.

On an unrelated note… I’ve been getting the urge again lately to go through and get rid of a ton of stuff. I did that last summer, and it felt awesome. I was really good at not bringing anything new into the house for a while, but then the junk started to creep its way back in. After I cleaned yesterday morning, I felt kind of frustrated because, while it looked better than it did before I started, it still didn’t look truly clean because of all the clutter. I think I might make that a project. Every night I’m going to go through one room and get rid of everything I don’t truly need.

So that’s what I’ve been up to the last couple weeks… nothing too exciting. Anyone else feeling lazy lately? How do you kick yourself out of a lazy slump?

2 thoughts on “2 Weeks of Lazy

Leave a Reply

