Writer’s Block

It has been far too long since my last post. This time it hasn’t been due to laziness or being too busy or anything like that. I just had major writer’s block. I sat down several times over the last few weeks and started writing, only to hit a wall and be unable to finish. It has been pretty frustrating. I have about 6 drafts saved that I kept trying to go back to and finish, but nothing really came to me. Even on the days that I was going to make it simple, just a recap of my day, everything I would put down sounded weird or uninteresting, so I gave myself a little break. I still don’t feel terribly wordy today, but I decided that I was going to publish something regardless of what it was.

The weirdest part of it all is that I have actually had things to write about the last few weeks. I just couldn’t get the words to come to me. First of all, I have changed up my diet a little bit. I have been struggling to stay on track with the Whole30 that I was on. I did a successful Whole30 in January, and I was planning to make it a Whole60, but that didn’t happen. I had an off plan weekend, but then I decided to get right back to it and throw myself into a Whole90. I didn’t make it more than a couple weeks before I went off plan again.

Honestly though, I think I’m just burned out on the Whole30 for now. I have definitely learned quite a bit and changed a lot of my bad habits, but my heart just isn’t in it for the super strict regimen. So what I’ve been doing for the last few weeks is eating Whole30-ish. During the week, I’ve been sticking to the plan really well, even cutting high carb fruits and veggies all of last week. Then on the weekends, I am a little more lenient. I allow myself to have some off plan foods. It seems to be working pretty well so far. I’ve been losing weight better than I was when I was strict Whole30, and my other issues aren’t really flaring up like I would have expected. I’ll probably do another Whole30 in a couple months-maybe to kick start summer, but for now I’m good with being Whole30-ish and giving myself a little break.

And now, my really big news… A while back I posted that I was really anxious about something that I couldn’t share the details on just yet. Well, I can finally reveal that it was about a promotion I was hoping to get at work. I was really anxious because I didn’t know who else was applying for the position, so I didn’t know how things would go. I don’t know why I let myself get so worked up about it since there wasn’t really anything I could do about it if someone else was more qualified than I was. I’m very happy to say that things did go my way though, and I was offered the position. I am now a merchandiser for the Canadian division of my company! 🙂

I’m really excited about the new responsibilities I will have. I’ll also get to do some travel for trade shows and visiting suppliers. That should be interesting trying to keep up with my healthy eating while on business trips, but I’m sure I’ll figure something out. 🙂 The new position also came with a small raise, so that will definitely help out with my financial goals too.

Anyway, that’s all I’ve got for you today. I kept it short and sweet. 🙂

Leave a Reply

