Whole30 Day 3

I have now successfully completed 3 days of my Whole30! I know it doesn’t seem like much to be excited about, but considering how many times I’ve failed in the past, I feel pretty good about it. I think the biggest difference this time around is my mindset. I’m excited to be doing this. I’m up for the challenge instead of dreading it and feeling like it’s something I have to do. I really feel like having a solid plan in place with visible reminders of why I’m doing it have really helped.

I’m also really proud of myself that I worked out this morning even though I wasn’t feeling very well. I feel all congested, I had a terrible headache, and I had zero energy. I’m not even exaggerating… I had to sit down a couple times while I was taking my shower this morning. I think what got me through was that I just reminded myself that it was probably just Whole30 flu, and the only way I’m going to get through it is to get through it. Exercising would probably even help.

We tried to pick an easier workout today because neither of us was feeling very well, but it still ended up being pretty challenging! I can definitely tell that I’m getting stronger though. We’ve been doing our morning workouts for about a month now. Honestly, it’s been pretty sporadic, but it’s been enough that I can tell there’s a difference. I really noticed it today when we were doing our double leg lifts. They were by no means easy, but I was able to do more than I could a couple weeks ago.

I have started utilizing my standing desk more regularly at work too. Today I downloaded a widget for my computer that you can set to tell you when to sit and stand. I currently have it set for 45 minutes sitting and 15 minutes standing. Eventually, my goal is to reverse those. I feel like it might be annoying to my coworkers that I keep shifting, but whatever. I have to do what’s right for me and my health, so they’ll get over it. 🙂

I did have a bit of a funny moment today… My bf and I always call each other weird pet names to be funny, and today when I was trying to swype the word “sugar” my phone changed it to “diabetes.” Well played phone… well played…

Today’s meals:

  • Breakfast-veggie omelet from the caterer.
  • Lunch-just a honeycrisp apple… I know, shame on me, but I just really wasn’t hungry.
  • Dinner-Chocolate Chili from meljoulwan.com. (This is seriously one of my all time favorite Whole30 recipes. You’d never guess it’s Whole30!) I’ll probably have some veggies or something too though I’m still not feeling that hungry.

At some point I’ll post my whole Whole30 meal plan. It’s pretty simple because I’m only cooking for myself. I always end up with a ton of food leftovers, but that works out really well for saving money and cooking time. I make sure to get at least 3 servings out of my meals, and I eat the first serving for dinner the night I make it, I eat the second serving for lunch the second day, and I eat the third serving for breakfast the next day. I like to space them out like that so I’m not eating the same meal twice in a row or twice in one day.

Anyway, that’s all I’ve got for today. Thanks for reading! 🙂

Leave a Reply

