Fudging My Way Through the Whole30

Ok, so I clearly rock at posting consistently… I really just lose track of the days. I honestly thought it was only a couple days ago that I posted last until I came on here and saw that it was 12 days ago. Lol. Oops… Soooo if you’re a regular follower… sorry about that! I’m going to come up with a schedule and put it on my calendar so that I am reminded to write. That way I’ll make sure I’m posting at least a couple times a week.

Anyway, not too much has been going on since my last post. I’m on day 15 of my Whole30, and things have been going pretty good. However, in the name of honesty, I will say that I have not been sticking to it 100%. I’d say I’ve been 99% compliant which is pretty darn good, but it’s not great. I can tell that I’m getting results in just the 2 weeks that I’ve been doing it, but I feel like I’m cheating myself out of even better results. When I’m finished with my Whole30, I want to be able to say that I gave it my all. That said, I’m going to extend my Whole30 by 2 weeks and make it a Whole45. I could just scrap it altogether and start over at day 1, but that feels like a failure, and I don’t think I’ve really failed. I’ve had moments of weakness, but I haven’t thrown in the towel and gone completely off plan.

What were the moments of weakness? Well, 2 weeks ago I had a cheese curd when the bf and I were out for his friend’s birthday. The plans were last minute, and I let myself get too hungry before we went. The bf ordered some poutine, and the cheese curds just looked too good to pass up. Lesson learned: don’t let myself get too hungry! Second-last weekend, I had a couple Pringles because the bf bought a flavor I’d never had before, and it sounded really good, so I wanted to try it. They weren’t very good. Lesson learned: It’s just food. If I really have to have it, I can always get it after my Whole30 is up. If it’s no longer available, then that’s probably a sign I didn’t need it.

In the grand scheme of things, these mistakes really aren’t going to kill me or completely derail my Whole30, but it doesn’t feel like as good of an accomplishment with those blemishes on there. After each instance, I was kicking myself for giving in and not staying strong. If it was just those 2 instances, I don’t think I’d be starting over. I think I’d probably just call it a mistake and move on; however, I haven’t been following the healthy meal guidelines either-mainly because I’m just not that hungry which makes me not want to cook anything. It’s amazing how in such a short time, my appetite has shrunk so drastically, but it does make it challenging to stick to the plan. I often feel like I’m forcing myself to eat, and because I just don’t feel like cooking a huge meal, I often tend to make something small and easy. The easiest and quickest things to make tend to be very carb heavy.

I have noticed the past few days that I’ve been really tired. This weekend I slept for probably 12+ hours a night, and yesterday morning and this morning, I had a really hard time getting out of bed. I know this is due to the excess of carbs in my diet, so I’m really going to work on eating fewer carbs and more protein.

I’ve been doing pretty well with my workouts. They still seem really difficult for a beginner’s series, but I can tell that I’m getting stronger. I feel that good ache you get after a productive workout, but I don’t hurt so badly that I can’t move anymore. I just wish I didn’t have to sit out of so many exercises because I physically can’t do them yet, and there isn’t much you can do for modifications.

Anyway, that’s about all I’ve got for you today! If you’re doing a Whole30 or have done one in the past, let me know in the comments what some of the biggest challenges you faced were and how you overcame them.

 

Leave a Reply

