Week 2 Progress

I am 2 weeks into my weight loss journey, and honestly I haven’t been doing that well with staying on plan. I’d say I’ve stayed within my ranges about 25% of the time. I could make excuses and say that it’s because of all the holiday treats scattered around the building at work, but I won’t. I’m sure it doesn’t help to have the added temptation, but ultimately, it’s my choice whether or not to have some, and I’ve just not been making good choices. As I said previously it is in my plan to allow myself some treats in moderation, but consuming between 250-1000 calories a day in treats is not even close to moderation. (It’s usually closer to the 250 than the 1000, but there was one day that I hit the candy hard!)

One thing that I have noticed that I struggle with quite a bit is staying on plan during my free time. I joined the Sparkpeople Spark Coaching, and one of the things they have you do is assess how you did over the last 24 hours with sticking to plan. You mark on a scale of 1-5 how well you feel you did, and then you write a couple sentences about why you feel that way, and I have noticed a major pattern. I can stick to plan pretty well during the day (even with all the treats out), but when I get home, I go off plan. I end up going out for dinner because I don’t feel like cooking, or overconsuming on the snacks in my cupboard.

I think this is due to the fact that during the day I have a somewhat regimented schedule, and I’m distracted by my work. I eat my breakfast in the morning when I get to work, around noon I eat lunch, around 2 I have an afternoon snack, and then around 4:30, I go home. When I get home though, it’s a different story. I usually try to get a workout in, but then after that, I don’t really have a schedule. Maybe I’ll clean one day or watch TV another, and I think it’s this lack of a schedule or distraction that sends me to the kitchen. So in an attempt to combat this, I am going to work on making up a schedule for myself after work, and I’m going to find a hobby. Last week I colored while I watched TV, but it made my hand hurt, so I’m not sure that can be an everyday thing…

I’m also finding that weekends are difficult for me as well for the same reasons stated above. We don’t really do a whole lot on the weekend, so it leads to boredom which leads to overeating. Last weekend I had a really hard time staying on track. First on Friday, I was really snacky by the time I got to my boyfriend’s house, and we couldn’t eat right away because we had to get to a bunch of stores before they closed. By the time we got to the grocery store it was after 9, and we were hungry for everything and nothing at the same time. It was hard to find something to eat that we agreed on, and after much wandering and some arguing we ended up getting the stuff to make Philly cheese steaks. They definitely put me over my calorie budget, but I’m not gonna lie… they were worth every calorie. Normally I’d be fine and just call that my worth it meal for the week, but I knew I had a Christmas party the next day that I’d probably be overdoing it at.

I tried to compensate for my previous high calorie day on Saturday by eating light all morning. I had a Chobani Flip for breakfast around mid morning, and then I didn’t eat anything for lunch. This was not a good idea.

My parents got me tickets to see the traveling Broadway performance of Beauty and the Beast at the Performing Arts Center, and I went to see it with my mom. Before the show started we had a bit of time to kill, so we ordered some glasses of wine, and then preordered some for during intermission. I was completely not thinking about the fact that I hadn’t eaten much all day, and after my second glass, I was pretty tipsy. An hour after my second glass, I was still feeling it, and we had to stop and grab dinner before heading to the Christmas party. The closest thing on the way was Wendy’s, and being famished and a little tipsy, I did not make good choices. I had a gooey cheesy bacon cheeseburger, fries, and a lemonade. I’m pretty sure that meal was my entire day’s worth of calories right there… and then some… About an hour later, we got to the party, and the usual party snacks were laid out on a table, and I way overdid it by grazing throughout the night. I also had a couple more drinks… I did really well sticking to plan on Sunday though.

Beauty and the Beast Traveling Broadway Performance

Best birthday present ever! Beauty and the Beast has always been my favorite Disney movie, and the live show did not disappoint. 🙂

The rest of my week was pretty boring. I just had work and came home. I did well sticking to my food goals with the exception of Monday night. My sister had a bunch of candy that she was eating while we watched TV, and she shared with me. I knew it wasn’t a good idea to eat it because I was almost at my max calories for the day, but I did it anyway. That was my 1000 calories over goal day… The sad thing is, it didn’t take all that much candy to get me to that point…

Best dinner ever, broccoli, pizza rolls, and oatmeal

Best dinner ever… I was feeling lazy last night, but I didn’t want to go over goal, so I had some pizza rolls, oatmeal, and steamed broccoli. 😛

I am a little worried about tomorrow and Friday being Christmas Eve and Christmas Day. I have family parties on both days, so I’m sure there’s going to be plenty of high calorie foods and adult beverages. I am going to try my best to track, but sometimes when other people are making the food, it can be difficult. My plan is to try to stick to the lean meats and veggies and have just a sampling of anything else that looks good.

 


 

Week 2 Progress Report

So all that said about how I didn’t do well this week, I must have done something right because I still managed to lose 2 lbs this week for a total loss of 3 lbs!

Week 2 loss: 2 lbs

Total loss: 3 lbs

NSV: I am noticing that my clothes are just ever so slightly more comfortable. 🙂

Adjustments for next week: Sticking to my plan! This week I adjusted my calorie levels down a little from week 1 because I looked at a few different calculators, and I was just a bit high for reaching my goal. Now, I just need to be more diligent about sticking to it.


I probably won’t be posting tomorrow or Friday, so Merry Christmas and Happy Holidays!

Let me know in the comments below how you are planning to handle/have been handling any holiday parties.

Leave a Reply

