Taking Control Part II

As I mentioned in my previous post, I had a bit of a hard time over the last several weeks. I had pretty bad general anxiety and depressed feelings to the point where I didn’t want to do anything or even leave my house. I felt like everything was out of control, and the way I was dealing with it was by not dealing with it. Finally I just told myself enough was enough and did just one thing. That one thing led to another thing which led to another thing, and so on, to the point where today I feel almost 100% better.

Last time I talked about how I put my house in order to help myself feel like I was more in control, and this time, I’ll talk about my diet and exercise regimen.

Even though I started off the year with the best of intentions and some pretty strong motivation, life happened, and I slipped up. Being gone for about half of the month of January certainly didn’t help. I mentioned in my Vegas recap that I did pretty good sticking to my goals, but I ended up not losing any weight which was really frustrating to me. By the time my second trip rolled around, I decided that I didn’t care, and I was going to enjoy my dinners out and not deprive myself. Well, I’m sure you’ll be shocked to find out that I gained even more weight after that trip… That led to even more out of control eating which led to feeling like crap which led to me skipping my workouts.

As with tidying up, I finally said enough was enough. I was eating way too much junk and being very lazy, so I convinced my boyfriend to start a Whole30 with me! We are currently on day 16 and going really strong! I’m actually completely following the rules this time-no excuses! I’m also trying to do it relatively low carb by not indulging in too much fruit or potatoes, and I feel awesome! I have quite a bit of energy, my cravings are nearly non-existent (aside from when I actually see something and have that momentary desire to eat/drink it), and my stomach issues have pretty well subsided! It always amazes me when I build something up in my head so much, and as soon as I’m through the hard part at the beginning, it almost becomes easy.

Steak with roasted garlic aioli, smashed red potatoes with ghee, and garlic roasted asparagus.

This has been one of my favorite meals so far. It was so decadent, but completely Whole30 compliant! Steak with roasted garlic aioli, smashed red potatoes with ghee, and garlic roasted asparagus.

Honestly I was really hesitant to share my Whole30 this time until I was finished because of how many times I tried and failed. I know on my last attempt at a Whole30, I said I really felt like I was going to make it the whole 30 days but ended up only making it about 20, but this time, now that I have my boyfriend for support, and I’m actually following the rules completely, I know I’m going to make it the full 30 days. I’ve even been toying with the idea of doing a slow roll reintroduction instead of trying to reintroduce everything right away. We’ll see though.

It is so nice having my boyfriend for support on this one. It’s great to know that I’m not the only one who’s going through the challenge, and it’s nice to have someone I know I can text or call when I am getting frustrated. Another thing that has really helped is that we’ve been preparing all of our meals for the week together on Sunday. The bf has even suggested some recipes that I never would have thought to try but ended up being delicious!

On the same day I started my Whole30, I got back into my daily morning workouts. My coworker and I have been getting to work an hour early every morning to utilize one of our large conference rooms to play a workout video from YouTube. Our favorite for the past couple weeks has been Winsor Pilates 20 minute workout. It has been perfect to get ourselves back into the swing of things. It’s easy enough that we want to keep doing it, but challenging enough that it’s actually doing something. I have a goal of working out every day during the week, and so far, I’ve only missed one of my last 12 workouts because of health reasons.

I’m finally getting to the point where it’s easy to get up in the morning to get my workout in. I don’t allow myself to make excuses, and I’m even starting to enjoy making that the start of my day. It’s energizing, and it gets me through the morning, so I don’t even need caffeine anymore!

To really give myself a kick in the pants, on March 1, I’m starting the 30 Day Pilates Body Challenge. It’s a free challenge from Robin Long at The Balanced Life Online where every day you’ll get an email first thing in the morning with a 10 minute Pilates video. You do the workout and check in via social media to say you did it, and that’s it! I’m planning on doing this on top of my work day workouts just as an added challenge. This means getting up even earlier to get it in, but I’m up for the challenge! If you’ve been looking for a way to kick start your workouts, I think this would be a great way to get started. You can follow me on Instagram @simply_whole_life where I’ll be checking in if you want to be part of my accountability circle or just to keep up with my progress (and maybe pass along some words of encouragement? 🙂 ).

30 Day Pilates Body Challenge, 10 Minute Pilates

I’m in, are you!?

Finally, I just had to share this picture. I’m at my parents’ house doing laundry and working on my blog while the machines are running, and when I came back from switching loads, I had a new little writing buddy! 🙂

Mordecai cat writing blog stealing chair

Meet my new writing assistant, Sauron Weasley. (Or as he’s formally known, Mordecai. 🙂 )

One thought on “Taking Control Part II

  1. Pingback: Whole30 Week 1 | Simply Whole Life

Leave a Reply

