Whole30 Week 4

Today is day 33 of my Whole30, so I’m 3 days into my reintroduction. I’ll write more about the last 2 days and my overall thoughts in my next post, but I am excited to say that I lost 15 lbs! I’m very happy with the progress I’ve made so far, and I can’t wait to keep it going. 🙂 If you want to read my previous weeks’ recaps, check out week 1, week 2 and week 3.

Day 22:

Day 22

Breakfast: shepherd’s pie, salad with Tessemae’s caesar dressing, V8 spicy hot

Lunch: Shrimp cocktail from Whole Sisters, broccoli and cauliflower, clementine

Dinner: Italian meatballs from Noshtastic, banana, orange vanilla seltzer

Snack: no snack

Notes: I had pretty good energy all day. I woke up right away with my alarm which is awesome for a Monday.

 

Day 23:

Day 23

Breakfast: Italian meatballs, BuddyFruit tropical pouch, V8 Spicy Hot

Lunch: Lemon  rosemary chicken from Laughing Spatula, roast potatoes, cauliflower and broccoli

Dinner: Shepherd’s pie, orange vanilla seltzer

Snack: no snack

Notes: I woke up right away today even though I didn’t get great sleep last night. I fell asleep on the couch watching TV, so I had to get up and go to bed. It was around midnight when I finally made it to my bed.

 

Day 24:

Day 24

Breakfast: Shepherd’s pie (my boyfriend made this without a recipe, and it was delicious!), apple

Lunch: Italian meatballs, broccoli, clementine

Dinner: Apple banana fruit pouch, handful of kalamata olives

Snack: no snack

Notes: I have been loving starting my day with a workout (who’d have thought those words would ever come from me!?) because it’s better than coffee at waking me up in the morning. My appetite has been coming back pretty strong the last few days. It could be because of a couple reasons. 1) I ran out of olive oil. I had been putting that on my veggies for breakfast and lunch to make sure I got enough healthy fat in. The decrease in fat could have decreased my long term satiety. 2) I’ve been working out a lot more and a lot harder. My appetite always increases when I work out more. Yesterday I had a bit of stomach issues in the afternoon. I’m not sure what caused it. I was getting heartburn shortly after finishing my meatballs, and then it moved down into my stomach.

 

Day 25:

Day 25

Breakfast: V8 spicy hot, shrimp cocktail, veggie blend, clementine

Lunch: shepherd’s pie, romaine salad

Dinner: Smoothie

Snack: handful of black olives

Notes: I rocked my workouts this morning. I got up right away at 5:15 and did my 30 day Pilates challenge and then got ready and went to work. At work I did my 10 minute tabata workout followed by 20 minutes of Winsor Pilates. 🙂 I’m feeling good this morning!

 

Day 26:

Day 26

Breakfast: Lemon Chicken, veggies

Lunch: V8, clementine

Dinner: Tilapia, smashed red potatoes

Snack: no snack

Notes: I ate my breakfast really late today, so I wasn’t hungry around my usual lunch time. I had a V8 and a clementine.

 

Day 27:

Day 27

Breakfast: No breakfast

Lunch: No lunch

Dinner: Chipotle Salad with Carnitas, pico, guac, and salsa verde

Snack: no snack

Notes: I was busy again today, so I didn’t stop to eat until dinner time

 

Day 28:

Breakfast: No breakfast

Lunch: No lunch

Dinner: Damn Fine Chicken

Snack: No snack

Notes: I was busy again today, so I didn’t stop to eat until dinner time

 

Week 4 Recap:

This week went really well! Aside from a couple stomach issues, the cause of which I am unsure, I had great energy all week, my mood was amazing, my motivation was sky high… I was definitely feeling the tiger blood once again! This week my thoughts were centered around day 31 and how I was going to handle it. I have only been in the reintro portion for a few days, and I am unsure of how things are going to go long term. I really want to keep up the amazing feelings and progress I’ve made over the last several weeks, but I know that full out Whole30 is just not sustainable for me long term. I’m just really going to have to teach myself some balance between strict clean Paleo and being able to indulge once in a while.

If you’ve done a Whole30 in the past, I’d love to hear how you did/are doing in life after Whole30. Please let me know in the comments!

4 thoughts on “Whole30 Week 4

  1. THAT’S AWESOME! I’ve only done about one week on whole 30. I agree that it’s not sustainable long term but I’m sure it would be an amazing way to jump start some weight loss and positive internal changes! I did Medifast for a month and it really was amazing when your blood sugar stays stable throughout the day how much LESS you eat but yet still feel FULL. I’ve been in the in-between phase for a while now of trying to figure out where my balance is. It is still a learning game but I’ve been doing pretty good at at least maintaining which is a challenge in itself! Congratulations on making it through a whole month!!! That’s AMAZING!!

    Like

    • Thanks, Ellie! Yes, it is so awesome when you’re not having those peaks and valleys in your blood sugar. I had some sugar over the last couple days, and I immediately noticed that my energy isn’t as consistent, and neither is my mood. Definitely a wake up call that I need to make sure to keep my sugar to a minimum. I think trying to find that post Whole30 balance is going to be even more challenging than the cut and dried rules of the Whole30! Congrats on maintaining and good luck finding your balance too! I’ll be posting some articles on finding the right balance for your body in the future, so keep your eyes peeled!

      Like

  2. Pingback: Whole30 Week 5 and Recap | Simply Whole Life

  3. Pingback: 5 Tips for a Successful Whole30 | Simply Whole Life

Leave a Reply

